Niches

By Luke Durack

Home Forums Niches

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Luke Durack
      Participant

Hi folks. This is just an attempt to get a bit of an idea of who out there might also be struggling with refining their “Niche” as part of last weeks exercise?

Im an architect in Australia working predominantly in residential. Both houses, alt & ads and small multi residential projects. While these are niches they also describe the work of most of Sydney’s sole practitioners. Perhaps I need to think more creatively but I am struggling a bit with coming up with niches within these. If they are there and I assume they are they must be heavily occupied niches. I guess it just then comes down to how well you market your niche.

Would any of my fellow members like to give shed some light on what niches they have found across the globe within the residential sector? Sustainable design, interior design, property development advice…?
        I would appreciate your thoughts.
        Luke.

String Nikolic
        Participant

You are right Luke, most of the reward comes from how well you market to your niche.

I have found it most effective to ‘niche by industry’. In your example your niche is residential architecture but you could target the market that already has your clients. These are often builders because many people go to a builder before an architect.

It’s always great to have clients coming directly to you, the architect, but it’s waaaaay faster getting clients by referral from a non-competing industry.

There is a training in the member site on building a database that may help. Here’s the link:

Databases Made Easy

Luke Durack
          Participant

Hi String. Thankyou. That makes sense.